Amazon Australia Amazon iBooks Kobo Google Play Booktopia Harlequin Australia Book World Dymocks

The Greatest Gift

HQ, Australia, November 2017

The poignant, heart-warming story of a woman who wants nothing else than to be a mum, and one who never wanted to be a mother.

Mother: Female parent of a child
Mum: The woman who nurtures, raises and loves a child

Radio host Harper Drummond lives for her glamorous career. Every day she meets fascinating people doing extraordinary things, but has begun to wonder whether there’s something more for her out there. She’s financially secure, happily married and loves her job — what more could she want from life? An interview with a childless couple prompts Harper to think about whether she could make a contribution. She and her husband, Samuel, know they don’t want a child in their lives, but could she help someone else become a mother?

The childhood cancer that left Claire Beggs infertile doesn’t matter to her husband, Jasper. He loves her unreservedly, and they are passionate about their thriving hot air balloon business in the Hunter Valley. Despite their contentment, Claire is desperate to have a child — she knows Jasper would be a brilliant father and doesn’t want him to regret choosing her over a family in the years to come. An egg donor seems to be Claire and Jasper’s only chance of a happy family.

Can they find someone who will give them the greatest gift?

‘Full of heartache and joy with a twist that keeps the pages turning…THE GREATEST GIFT will appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes and Monica Mcinnerney.” – Australian Books + Publishing

“The Greatest Gift, I really have no idea where to start because this book was an amazing gift…Once again Johns has written a story that will appeal to different types of readers and it is clear that her talent is becoming more finely honed with every release.” – Beauty and Lace. 

“Heartbreaking and heartwarming in equal parts, Rachael Johns’ The Greatest Gift takes readers on a rollercoaster ride of emotions. My advice? Make sure you have tissues handy!” – Lisa Ireland, author of THE SHAPE OF US.

“Rachael Johns has done it again, writing a book that you want to devour in one sitting, and then turn back to the first page to savour it all over again. I loved the characters of Harper and Jasper; their stories made me laugh and cry, and ache and cheer and ultimately reflect on all the many facets of that extraordinary journey called motherhood.” – Natasha Lester, author of A KISS FROM MR FITZGERALD.

“A beautiful story of love and loss, heartbreak and hope – this is Rachael Johns at her very finest. With achingly endearing characters and storyline that packs a punch, The Greatest Gift will make your heart swell as you reach for this tissues and leave you smiling when you turn the final pages. Told with warmth, empathy and wisdom, it’s a book that will appeal to everyone who has laid plans for their life and discovered that life is something that can’t be controlled and that even if you think you have it all worked out, you never know what’s around the corner. My favourite Rachael Johns by a country mile.” – Tess Woods, author of LOVE AT FIRST FLIGHT.

The Greatest GiftThe Greatest Gift